Leyland In Concert Vol 2 – Blue

Leyland Band Music Collections


”Blue” is the latest addition to the popular “Leyland in Concert” series. It  came into being following popular demand for recordings of the band’s concert repertoire, and volume  2 – Blue – is a fantastic addition to the series.

Leyland In Concert Volume 1 has proved a great success with supporters and audiences alike, and we are pleased to now bring you the second CD in the series. Leyland In Concert Volume 2, “Blue”, takes its content from the most popular Leyland Band repertoire of the last few years, including the best received pieces from the recent 2014 and 2015 Brass in Concert Championship programmes. This fantastic new recording is a mix of high octane virtuosity, beautiful reflective music, and some stunning solo contributions. This is a CD desirable equally for the serious connoisseur or just the ‘easy listener’.

World premiere recordings

Along with established favourites, the CD also boasts 2 world premiere recordings of works commissioned by the band; “Metropolis” by Andrew Stephenson and “Sprites and Flares” by Christopher Bond which closed the band 2015 Brass In Concert program. Throughout the recording there a number items featured by Leyland at Brass In Concert in 2014 and 2015, including the title track Blue, Intrada Ein Feste Burg, Beauty of Blue and Molly On The Shore.


track title composer arranger soloist Length
1 Blue Thomas Gansch John Doyle 3’13”
2 March from 6th Symphony

P I Tchaikovsky Howard Snell 5’52”
3 Jenny Wren

Roland Davies Cornet soloist -Pete Shaw 4’37”
4 Nearer My God To Thee

Lowell Mason Simon Wood 4’44”
5 Montagues and Capulets Sergei Prokofiev Gordon Langford 2’46”
6 O Magnum Mysterium Morten Lauridsen Phillip Littlemore 4’34”
7 Metropolis

Andrew Stephenson Euphonium soloist -James McLeod 5’56”
8 March from The Pines of Rome Ottorino Resphigi Howard Snell 5’26”
9 Intrada Ein Feste Burg Ray Farr 4’57”
10 Molly On The Shore Percy Grainger Howard Snell 3’39”
11 The Beauty Of Blue John Doyle Flugel soloist – John Doyle 4’12”
12 Faith Of Our Fathers F W Faber John Doyle 4’49”
13 Blue Rondo Alla Turk

Dave Brubeck Kevin Edwards 4’39”
14 Deep River Traditional Peter Graham Tuba soloist – Chris Doran 2’55”
15 Serenata Enrico Toselli Goff Richards 4’03”
16 Sprites and Flares

Christopher Bond 5’17”
Encore The Waltonian

J J Richards Thomas Wyss 2’34”





Leyland In Concert Vol.2 "Blue"
Product Options
#OptionPriceDownloadFile Size
1Leyland In Concert Vol.2£10.00
Shipping Rate: A
Order Leyland In Concert Vol.2 "Blue" Leyland In Concert Vol.2 @ £10.00